Meet the DTC Executive Board


Fairfield DTC'S Executive Board. From left to right: Diana Sisler, Treasurer; Carlisle Spivey, Corresponding Secretary; Steve Sheinberg, Chairman; Cathy Curley, Vice Chair; Laura Karson, Recording Secretary.

Fairfield Democrats Elect Executive Board for 2018-20

The Fairfield Democratic Town Committee (DTC) recently elected its executive board for the 2018-20 term, with Steven Sheinberg unanimously re-elected to serve a second term as Chairman.

Sheinberg has spearheaded the Fairfield Democrats’ election operations over the past several years, significantly increasing voter turnout and making a tremendous impact in a short period of time. With Sheinberg’s strategic leadership, the Democrats took majority control of the Board of Selectmen when Kevin Kiley was elected Selectman during the June special election. In November, the Democrats then took a strong 26 to 14 seat majority on the RTM, which had been held by the GOP for a decade. During the 2017 municipal elections, with Sheinberg at the helm, the Fairfield Democrats nominated and elected a record number of female Democratic candidates, and also achieved a landmark victory in RTM District 1, which had been held by Republicans for decades.

“I’m honored to serve again as DTC Chair,” Sheinberg said, “We’ve made tremendous strides in the last two years, and I look forward to building on those successes and to moving Fairfield forward with the help of our talented executive board and our many members and supporters.“

Sheinberg has been a community activist in Fairfield since moving here from Weston in 2012, and was awarded the Fairfield Democrats’ Young Turk award in 2015 for his many contributions to the Democratic Party. He was previously a Democratic Party organizer and President of the North Shore Democratic Association. He received his BA in Political Science from Queens College/CUNY and is currently an employee benefits consultant.

Cathy Curley was elected to serve as Vice Chair. She replaces Sheila Marmion who will focus on her role as a member of Fairfield’s Board of Finance to which she was appointed in 2016. Curley has been a member of the DTC communications team since April 2017, primarily coordinating social media efforts, including for the 2017 Kevin Kiley for  Selectman campaign and numerous municipal campaigns. In her role as Vice Chair, Curley will continue to focus on DTC communications, social media efforts, and messaging.

Curley was invaluable for the success of the Kiley for Selectman campaign and played a key part in our victories in the November 2017 election as well. In her new role as Vice Chair she will continue that great work.

“I’m humbled & honored by this opportunity to serve my party and my town,” Curley said, “I’m impressed continually by the hard-working team that makes up the entire Fairfield DTC and am looking forward to continuing to work alongside our exceptional Chair, Steve Sheinberg.”

A communications and social media marketing freelancer focusing on political, social, and civic activism, Curley also serves on the board of the local nonprofit philanthropy organization Scholars & Athletes Serving Others and is a charter member of the Fairfield Community Advisory Council. She holds a masters degree in social work from Hunter College.

Laura Karson, active DTC member and core contributor on Fairfield’s Democratic campaigns, was elected to the position of Recording Secretary. She succeeds Caitlin Clarkson Pereira who plans to focus on her campaign for State Representative in the 132nd District.

Rounding out the executive board are Mark Corcoran, who was reelected as DTC Treasurer, and Carlisle Spivey, who was re-appointed to the role of Corresponding Secretary.

Please follow us on Facebook at @fairfielddtc and on Twitter at @FairfieldCTDems.